RWFL Awards 2011

The Eastern Province Branch of Run/Walk For Life Athletics Club held its annual awards function at the PJ clubhouse on Saturday 19 November.

Jene Banfield and Terri-Lynn Penney were jointly named the Female Runner of the Year, while the Male Runner of the Year award went to Mzwanele Maphekula


Run/Walk For Life Grahamstown
AWARDS - 2011

Athletics Club


Eastern Province Selection:

Terri-Lynn Penney - EP marathon/ half-marathon, duathlon and triathlon

Julie Walker – EP Duathlon

Jene Banfield – EP marathon

Frith van der Merwe – EP marathon and half-marathon

John van Onselen – EP duathlon and triathlon

Carriot Galela – EP half-marathon

Mzwanele Maphekula – EP marathon

Stephen Penney – EP Duathlon

South African selection:

Julie Walker – SA duathlon

Terri-Lynn Penney – SA duathlon and triathlon

Stephen Penney – SA duathlon

Fastest half-marathon, men: Mzwanele Maphekula 1:14:17

Fastest half-marathon, female: Frith van der Merwe 1:30:54

Fastest marathon, men: Mzwanele Maphekula 2:20:16

Fastest marathon, female: Terri-Lynn Penney 3:19:11

Fastest combined Two Oceans and Comrades times: 13:14:46 Jene Banfield

Most official races for the Year: Carriot Galela (12)

Furthest distance covered in races: Jene Banfield 438 (including five marathon, Two Oceans and Comrades)

Junior of the Year: No award

Veteran Runner of the Year, Female: Jene Banfield (including 1st at Mountain Drive half-marathon and Kowie Striders 27km and 4 category wins).

Veteran Runner of the Year, Male: Carriot Galela (including 4 top 3 positions in category)

Master Runner of the Year: John van Onselen (including his 5th Oceans in 26 years and 1st marathon in 19 years).

Most Improved Athlete of the Year: Lionel Blaauw

Walker of the Year: No award

Performance of the Year, Male: Mzwanele Maphekula (17th overall at Two Oceans in 3:16:17.

Performance of the Year, Female: Frith van der Merwe – 1st overall at the Bruintjieshoogte 25km in 1:49:34

Male Runner of the Year: Mzwanele Maphekula – 2 wins and 7 top tens (31:21 for 10km, 48:00 for 15km, 1:14:17 for 21km, 1:29:25 for 27km, 2:20:16 for 42km, 2:55:55 for 50km, 3:16:17 for Two Oceans

Female Runner of the Year: Jene Banfield and Terri-Lynn Penney. Terri-Lynn – 2 wins and 7 top 10. Jene – 2 wins and six top tens.

 Run/Walk For Life Grahamstown
AWARDS - 2011


Most distance by a female runner/walker: Madyke Mokorosi (484km)

Most distance by a male runner: Joubert Retief (568km)

Most distance by a female runner: Danika Marquis (649km)

Most distance by a female walker: Lynette Louw (71km)

Most enthusiastic member: Natasha Agnew and Eulene Jacobs

Most Weight Lost: Manie Cronje ( 17kg )

Most determined: Vernon Jones and Samueal Gill

Most improved: Carol Jones and Anna Retief

Performance of the Year: Amy Taylor (Two Oceans half marathon

Most Dedicated Member: Madyke Mokorosi (has been a member of Run/Walk For Life since we started in Grahamstown in 2007, attended 396 sessions and covered a total distance of 2 216km).

Male Programme member of the year: Manie Cronje

Female Programme member of the Year: Danika Marquis